Yves Daoust

  • 1
    Impromptu (1994) Brigitte Poulin, piano; David Cronkite, keyboard
    Yves Daoust Arr. Yves Daoust, 1995, 2014

Programme notes

I completed this piece thanks to the help of Chopin, who for the occasion loaned me his Fantasie-Impromptu in C-sharp minor, Opus 66 for piano. I have taken all material for this work from it (aside from a brief allusion to Schumann): the harmonic colors, the pitches, but also the agitation of the writing, the overly abundant energy, the tension. A sort of cry expressing the ‘tortures of the soul’ that continue to plague contemporary human beings, in spite of the myth of a liberating technology. We remain unabashed Romantics…

Impromptu [mixed version] premiered on January 30, 1996 by Manuel Schweizer, piano, and Anne Gaudemer, keyboard — from the Ensemble Grame (France) — during the concert Live from Lyon produced by SMCQ at Salle Pierre-Mercure in Montréal. Impromptu [mixed version] was commissioned by SMCQ with support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ).

About this recording

This version of Impromptu [mixed version] was performed by Brigitte Poulin, piano, and David Cronkite, keyboard, recorded at the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur in July 2014, and mixed at the composer’s studio.

  • Composer(s): Yves Daoust
  • Year of composition: 1994
  • Arranger(s): Yves Daoust
  • Year of version: 1995, 2014
  • Instrumentation: piano, synthetizer (Roland JV-80) and stereo fixed medium
  • Commission: SMCQ, with support from the CALQ
  • ISWC: T0703682443
  • Duration: 15:40