Suite baroque

Yves Daoust

Programme notes

Suite baroque

Suite Baroque (Baroque Suite) was composed for the concert-performance Ni terrible, ni simple (Neither Difficult, Nor Simple) by harpsichordist/actress Catherine Perrin. Used as transitions between solo harpsichord pieces performed by the musician, each of the movements of Suite Baroque articulates a different dramatic climate which reflects various “moods” of the performer/actress.

Each movement of the suite is constructed on a specific aspect of the baroque style, its rhetorical processes, its artifices — signs now almost indecipherable but for a small circle of experts.


Suite Baroque was realized at the composer’s studio in 1989. It was premiered as part of the Ni terrible, ni simple performance in February, 1989, at Obscure in Québec City. This piece was commissioned by Catherine Perrin.


  • February 1989, Concert, Obscure, Quebec City (Québec)
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium
  • Composer(s): Yves Daoust
  • Year of composition: 1989
  • Commission: Catherine Perrin
  • ISWC: T0704934166
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média



From the preface of the Premier livre des toccatas (1615) by Girolamo Frescobaldi.


  • ISWC: T0715175384

«Qu’ai-je entendu?»

From the opera Castor et Polux (1737) by Jean-Philippe Rameau.


  • ISWC: T0704946031

Les «Agrémens»

From an excerpt of L’art de toucher le clavecin (1717) by François Couperin.


  • ISWC: T0704765296


Love scene between the harpsichordist and her instrument.


  • ISWC: T0704946984

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.